Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Policy Intiative Development of Industrial / Economic

Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) in the Ministry of Commerce & Industry Nirmala Sitharaman has announced that the GOI has adopted the strategy of developing integrated industrial/economic corridors in partnership with State Governments for boosting industrial development.
  • National Industrial Corridor Development Authority (NICDA) has not been constituted yet.
The 5 industrial/economic corridors are as follows:
  • Delhi Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC): The project spans the States of Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat and Maharashtra along the Western Dedicated Freight Corridor (DFC) of the railways. Initially, 8 nodes/cities in the six DMIC states have been taken up for development.
  • Chennai-Bengaluru Industrial Corridor (CBIC): Master Planning of Ponneri (Tamil Nadu), Tumkur (Karnataka) and Krishnapatnam (Andhra Pradesh) has been completed.
  • Bengaluru-Mumbai Economic Corridor (BMEC): The Dharwad (Karnataka) has been identified for master planning
  • Vizag-Chennai Industrial Corridor (VCIC): Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh) and Srikalahasti-Yerpedu (Andhra Pradesh) have been identified for master planning.
  • Amritsar-Kolkata Industrial Corridor (AKIC): Feasibility study with respect to the Inception Report has been completed.

No comments:

Post a Comment