Sunday, January 24, 2016

Lok Sabha passes The National Waterways Bill, 2015

The National Waterways Bill, 2015 which provides for declaring certain inland waterways as national waterways, was passed in the Lok Sabha.
  • Under it, 106 additional inland waterways will be added to the list of national waterways, taking the number to 111 from existing 5.
  • The legislation was moved for consideration and passing by Shipping and Road Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari.
Existing National waterways
NW – 1: Allahabad–Haldia stretch of the Ganges–Bhagirathi–Hooghly river
NW – 2: Sadiya–Dhubri stretch of the Brahmaputra river
NW – 3: Kollam–Kottapuram stretch of West Coast Canal and Champakara and Udyogmandal canals
NW – 4: Kakinada–Pondicherry stretch of canals and Kaluvelly tank, Bhadrachalam–Rajahmundry stretch of River Godavari and Wazirabad–Vijayawada stretch of River Krishna
NW – 5: Talcher–Dhamra stretch of rivers, Geonkhali–Charbatia stretch of East Coast Canal, Charbatia–Dhamra stretch of Matai river and Mahanadi delta rivers

No comments:

Post a Comment